15 Things You May Not Know About Gemma Whelan

Posted on

Gemma Whelan writer, not to be confused with the English actor Gemma Whelan, is an award-winning director, screenwriter, and educator. As an Irish immigrant to the U.S., her perspective crosses the boundaries between cultures, and as an artist, she gives expression to stories that have been suppressed. Gemma was the founding Artistic Director of Wilde Irish Productions in the San Francisco Bay Area and of Corrib Theatre in Portland, Oregon. She has been directing and teaching at universities and conservatories in the U.S, Ireland, and Asia for over 35 years. Her novels are Fiona: Stolen Child and Painting Through the Dark. She lives in Portland, Oregon. Here are some things you may not know about her.

1) Why did you become a writer? How did you get started?

As a child I was an avid reader and would escape and find secret places to read. I dreamed of being a writer. I started writing seriously when I was in film school and wanted to have more agency. To be the one who generated stories.


2) What is your writing routine? How do you discipline yourself to keep at it?

In my life it’s more like carving out the time, stealing time. I sometimes write in the quiet of the morning when everyone is asleep. If I can find a quiet few hours, I’ll write anytime.


3) How many drafts before you felt this book was finished?

Too many to count. I don’t keep every new draft, and with computers it’s so easy to go back and take a pass with e.g., one new idea and weave it into the story.


4) What was the best thing that happened with regard to your writing career? The worst?

The best is my writing group. I have a small group of people (now there are three of us) who work really well together. We have different styles, and we trust each other. The worst? The publication of this book, first time around was a fiasco. The publisher was not trustworthy and ended up bailing on dozens of writers. I had to pivot and reset.


5) What part of your job do you love the most? Hate or dislike the most?

I love the writing, figuring out the story. I love the re-writing, finding ways to go deeper and make it richer. The promotion can be hard.


6) What do you like to read? Do you read while working on a novel or screenplay? Favorite authors?

I always read. I can’t manage without a book! That sounds like dependency and probably is! I read fiction, non-fiction, memoir, poetry. Too many favorites to name – Virginia Woolf, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Anne Enright, Colm Toibin, Emma Donoghue, Ann Patchett, Anne Lamott. Sometimes I give myself the luxury of re-reading and am currently delving back into Wintering by Katherine May. I also have read plays my whole life as I’m a theatre director – I love Samuel Beckett, Brian Friel, Marina Carr, Harold Pinter, Caryl Churchill.

This is a question that I could spend hours answering, but I’ll stop! I personally know so many amazing writers – novelist, memoirists, poets, playwrights – it would be dangerous to go down that road…


7) What was the best advice you received as a writer?

Stay inside your character. Feel from the inside.


8) Who has influenced you the most in terms of developing your personal writing style?

My writing group members Ellen Kesend and Mark Montgomery. They are brilliant writers and perceptive critics.


9) Do you have a good luck charm or superstition?

As long as I have a good cup of tea (black, Persian tea, with fresh ground cardamom, and milk), I’m good to go!


10) Which is harder, writing a novel or a screenplay? Which form do you like the most?

For me novels are harder, but more enjoyable. Screenplays generally follow a formula and give you guidelines about shape and structure. A novel unfolds more slowly and is a lot about discovery.


11) What quote or personal saying do you live by?

“May you live all the days of your life.” I think it’s from the Talmud.


12) Do you paint? What are your favorite things to paint?

I don’t paint. I have no skills at all as a visual artist! I do love and admire and appreciate art.


13) If you could do anything over again, would you and what would it be?

Go back to Paris and stay for a while. Bring my French back to a happy conversational level.


14) What advice would you give beginning writers?

Keep at it. Be dogged. If you love it, don’t let anyone stop you.


15) Something we don’t know about you?

I’ve rafted down a raging river in the Thai jungle on a very basic bamboo raft made right before the expedition.
And: what would you like us to know about Painting Through the Dark

My novel is based on certain events and experiences I had when I came to this country from Ireland at 21, with no money and no contacts. But Aisling is not me. She’s herself. She’s the character who has to navigate this world I placed her in and figure out how to survive.

My name: My full name is Dolores, Gemma, Therese, Whelan. My parents took one look at me and decided I was a Gemma, not a Dolores, so Gemma has always been my name. I was called after a saint, as all children born in Ireland were at the time. Gemma is an Italian name, and in Latin it means jewel, or precious stone. Therese is my confirmation name. So, I have a Spanish, Italian, French, and Irish (Whelan) name!

You can find out more about Gemma on her website https://gemmawhelan.com/

Leave a comment