Celebrating Elvis Presley’s birthday.

Posted on

Bonnie Dodge's photo.

Today is Elvis Presley’s Birthday. He was born in Tupelo, MS on January 8, 1935. Maxine Foster’s dream was to visit Graceland on his birthday.

Excerpt from Waiting:

January brought with it more than snow. For the first time in a long time, January filled Maxine’s house with excitement as she planned her trip to Graceland. She waited until the last possible moment to tell her family that she was going. She was settled at Grace’s kitchen table the night before, sharing a rare cup of coffee with her daughter and granddaughter.

“Graceland?” Grace said, her mouth hanging open. “By yourself? Mother, that’s not like you.”

“I know,” Maxine said. “And don’t try and talk me out of it. This is something I’ve wanted to do all my life. And now I’m going to.”

“Does Daddy know?”

“No, and I don’t want you to tell him. He’ll ruin it. I haven’t had a vacation in years. I think it’s about time I got to do something I wanted.”

Does Maxine go? Find out in Waiting. Get your copy here.

Leave a Reply

