The End

Posted on Updated on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve just finished writing the ending paragraph to my latest novel. My head is numb; my butt is numb and for a moment I’m elated. It feels SO GOOD to reach the end of this journey. I call a friend to celebrate because she knows how exhilarating it is to write The End. But the minute I hang up the phone my emotions plunge back to reality. This is just the first draft. The nuts and blots of the story are in place. Maybe. Now comes the arduous task of editing and revising.
Some of my writer friends can whip out a book in six months, some even three. But this book has been percolating for several years. I have a file folder three inches thick of scenes I’ve deleted, or research I want to include, or should I say wanted to include as the story morphed to an end. My characters names have changed; I’ve honed their actions and reactions. I know them better than I know my siblings. But still, this book really isn’t finished.
Thus is the task of a writer. Formulating an idea strong enough to carry a book, writing more than 100,000 words. Writing, rewriting and rewriting. I’m not complaining. I love my job. I am so grateful to have friends and family who support my writing and me. I can’t think of a better way to end this year by typing THE END, knowing 2012 is just around the corner, and that this is really just the beginning. Thank you all so much for your support. You have no idea how much you mean to me as I hole away to write my stories.

May Santa bring you everything you want, especially a prosperous New Year.

2 thoughts on “The End

    kathils said:
    December 22, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I’m at the opposite end. . . going into 2012 starting the 2nd book in a series. My first is in the hands of my beta and will (hopefully) be making the rounds to agents in the next few months. Writing The End was awesome and terrifying. Starting the process all over again.. . Holy Cow! Congratulations and good luck. 🙂

      bonniedodge said:
      December 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      To you too. I need some clean up before I send to betas. How you hook an agent!

Leave a Reply

