When it looks like I’m doing nothing

Posted on Updated on

3800475215_4410b055e1

Kennedy after trip to the dollar store.

Just because I haven’t posted a blog since May, it may look like I’m doing nothing. But the truth is that I’ve been busy with summer, gardens, grandsons, and laying out a book for The Other Bunch.

The garden is producing generously every day with more broccoli and cabbage than I can eat. The grandsons spent the month of July with us swimming, riding ATVs, and looking for ghosts. It was an honor to watch Kennedy at age 5 jump off the diving board during swim lessons. Dante, who turns 8 next week, adopted our orphaned cat Lucy Smith and hunted up grasshoppers and caterpillars for his bug box, while big brother Dmitri helped make banana bars, birthday cake ice cream, and Twinkie cupcakes. All boys are now back in Hillsboro with their parents who are glad to have them home and underfoot again. And yes, I miss them, but now that the house is empty, I’ve been busy laying out our new book, “Voices from the Snake River Plain”. This is a collection of essays, short stories, and poems written by Dixie Thomas Reale, Patricia Santos Marcantonio, and me. With any luck and a lot of patience, the book will be available soon.  Just so you know, when it looks like I’m doing nothing, I’m busy living life and enjoying every minute of it.

One thought on “When it looks like I’m doing nothing

    dawnblair said:
    September 4, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    I can’t believe your grandsons are getting so big! Dante’s eight. I can’t believe it. Time goes by too fast. Glad to hear you’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

