NaNoWritMo and Other Things

Posted on Updated on

October found me back in Oysterville, WA, with my husband on vacation. I took three rolls of film and am anxious to start creating a lot of new stories. Some places just speak to me, and this was one of them.

scan0001.jpg

The Baptist Church in Oysterville, Wa. October, 2007.

I dedicated the entire month of November to the NaNoWritMo challenge with a goal of 10 new pages a day. I didn’t hit my daily goal, but I did meet the challenge, ending up with 267 new pages and a total of 63,695 new words. The great thing is that now I have a complete first draft of The Beach House, a story about a boy, his grandmother, memory and secrets. Here is the snippet for the back book cover. When a young father learns that his grandmother has died and left him her entire estate, he returns to Oregon and his boyhood haunts only to discover that everything he remembered about his grandmother is a lie. I’m setting the book aside for the holidays, but plan to work on it again in January.

scan0002.jpg

Contemplating my next novel at Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center near Ilwaco, WA.

Best Wishes for December and the Holiday Season!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWritMo and Other Things

    trixie said:
    February 6, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Nice place!

    bonniedodge said:
    February 6, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks, Trixie, and thanks for stopping by.
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

