July 2007 Update

Posted on Updated on

June and July have been busy months at our house. The Murder in the Grove conference was great, as was Margie Lawson’s workshop. She gave lots of tips on how to edit for visceral impact. June kept me busy outside and the garden is awesome. We’ve enjoyed fresh peas, lettuce, broccoli, new potatoes, strawberries, and yesterday I picked my first tomato. Yum. The corn is almost ready, and hopefully all those blossoms on the cucumbers mean I’ll have loads of cukes before long.

Grandsons Dmitri, Dante and Kennedy spent most of July here at our mini farm, and besides keeping me company, they accomplished a lot of firsts. Dante and Kennedy got to see/touch a real milk snake, not to be confused with the poisonous coral snake, at the Herrett Center on the College of Southern Idaho Campus, and all three boys learned to drive/ride on an ATV. Dmitri also learned how to drive the riding lawnmower clear to the mailbox and back. We had a good visit and it was sad to see them leave, but I will see them again this week when I fly to Portland to attend the 2007 Willamette Writers Conference. I’m looking forward to meeting Bill Johnson, author of A Story is a Promise, as well as a full lineup of great writers.

A month or so ago, my friend Pat Marcantonio and I went to see the movie, Evening based on the book by Susan Minot. It was so well done I kept thinking about it for weeks, and finally broke down and read the book. I liked the movie better than I liked the book, but there is a great quote at the beginning of the book that I can relate to since there never seems to be enough hours in the day.

“I give it to you not that you may remember time, but that you might forget it now and then for a moment and not spend all your breath trying to conquer it.” William Faulkner.

Leave a Reply

